The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Like the First Day of School In a Good Way!

11 Comments

Kids bookshelf with German and American childr...

Kids bookshelf with German and American childrens books (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Picture of graves decorated with flag...

English: Picture of graves decorated with flags at Arlington National Cemetery on Memorial Day 2008. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good morning!

Today in the U.S.  it’s Memorial Day.  I wish to thank all of the people who died in service to our country and the people who still serve.  Freedom is such a precious gift!

Even though it’s the informal start of summer today, I feel like it’s the first day of school – making plans for how I will spend my spare time in this new season and what I want to accomplish.  Can you tell, I loved school and college?  🙂

I want to read one new book a week.  This is possible because a) I have one bookshelf devoted entirely to books I haven’t read yet, and b) I am a speed-reader.

I want to comment on posts that I like instead of just liking them.

I want to get my spring housecleaning finished before autumn arrives!  🙂

My goal of more, good quality sleep is still on the agenda.  To be booted out:  freakish nightmare-type dreams.  Not good!

I want to work on my list of writing projects more and find an agent.

Most importantly, I want to continue my quest for antiperfectionism.  That means, I understand at the outset that I cannot possibly get all these things done, but I have a list of things to do when and if I get the chance.  🙂

Happy, happy summer!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

11 thoughts on “Like the First Day of School In a Good Way!

  1. I tried to start reading one book a week, but I’ve fallen horribly behind again. I need more hours in my day and more coffee in my cup to get through all of everything I need and have to do. Curses. Enjoy your summer!

    • Thank you! I hope you have a great summer, too! I’ll try not to be perfectionistic about it like I have been in the past – maybe that will help. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. LOL I know the feeling about wanting to read more…for two years I did book reviews for a supplier of books to Christian school libraries. Over that time I became “booklogged” and decided I needed a break. I didn’t get paid, but I did get to keep the books. Some of them were proof copies, and as such, I got to say, “Oh, this one isn’t even in bookstores yet” when people asked where they could get it from 🙂
    The deal was I got to choose how many books I wanted in a month and whether I wanted them to be fiction, non-fiction, YA or adult. I would usually ask for a mixed batch. I would receive 4-6 books a month. Then I had to write a very detailed review – usually 3-4 pages – and include the page number of any “suspect” content. Most books passed the “Granny the Censor” test, but there were two that I put aside and used for fire starters for the wood fire the following winter. Yes, the language and content were “R” rated and both of them were for early teens. The mind boggles on what we are feeding our children’s minds.

    • Wow Lyn, very interesting! So now – how many books would you say you read on a regular basis for pleasure? I mean, maybe my goals for one book a week are too high?

      • I’ve been thinking that I’ve been very slack lately, but then I realised I read every night in bed, or if I’m in a cafe having a coffee. I keep forgetting about my Kindle. I probably read a book every two weeks – depending on how thick it is. Some of the authors of blogs I follow have actually published books they have written. With a couple of them, I found myself switching the bed lamp off at 2AM. Yep, the books were that good 🙂
        No, one book a week isn’t too high a goal. Just remember, you have your blog to write and all the blogs you follow to read 😉
        My granddaughter often reads 3-4 books a week and some of them are the size of a Harry Potter book. She’s quite a good little writer too and has her own blog http://emmzcatz.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/egg-and-the-hose/ (not that I’m proud of her or anything 😀 )

      • Guess what? I’ve joined Emma’s blog now and left a little comment. I think she is just dynamite! It shows that talent does run in families! 🙂 Yup, well actually I have 3 blogs that I write for now, and on top of that – I keep following more and more blogs, when I should just be satisfied with a smaller number. But I won’t give any of them up… I’m sure you know what I mean. 🙂 As always, Lyn, you give me a lot of hope and inspiration, and hopefully I can talk to you again soon!

      • Thanks Debb for dropping by Emma’s blog 🙂 Yes, she’s not a bad little writer. We went away together for a writing weekend last year. It was so much fun. Might have to do it again during the next school holidays 😀

      • Cool. Will you take me with you? 🙂

      • Absolutely…why not. All the more the merrier. You get yourself over here, and you can come with us 😀

  3. Having recently updated -adjusted my own ‘what Id like to accomplish in 2013’ i can totally relate! Spring cleaning is almost complete 😉 Love, love the unread bookcase idea! Thanks so much and Happy, Happy Summer!! Shandra

~Let me know you were here~

