The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Expecting a House Guest

11 Comments

I’m just elated lately — we recently found out that Dave’s mom is taking the eight hour Amtrak train ride to St. Paul for my birthday next month.   I usually see her once a year, with me taking the train to see her and catch up.  However, this year she is taking the train and is so looking forward to meeting our new cat Rachael and seeing our house full of “new” furniture.  YAY!   One of our decks, the long one at the back of the house, was scheduled to be replaced in September or October, but our man thinks it can be fully installed by the time of Lee’s visit.   This is great, because she loves to sit on the deck with her coffee in the morning.

And I am doubly thrilled because Lee is the only mother I have left.  My own mother passed away in 2000.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

11 thoughts on “Expecting a House Guest

  1. Aren’t decks wonderful! My son-in-love (sounds much nicer than son-in-law) built me a lovely deck. I live with my daughter, SIL and 17 YO granddaughter. I have my own part of the house with my own bathroom and kitchen (yes, he built those for me too). I love sitting out on the deck for morning coffee and in summer, I even have dinner out there sometimes. LOL if I’ve baked muffins, my SIL often joins me 😀

  2. I’m so happy for you!! I know you will love having some company!! Hope I’ll have the chance to meet her!

~Let me know you were here~

