The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Scripture Memory

6 Comments

Hello friends,

I am curious about scripture memory — what method do you use – how often do you choose a new verse to memorize, and how, for example – could you help me? I have the Topical Memory System but didn’t get past the third verse —

Thank you,
Debb

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

6 thoughts on “Scripture Memory

  1. Yes, thank you, that helps. That’s wonderful that you have whole chapters memorized! I think the key is probably consistency, which I never had with my system all the times I tried it. Hey – maybe if I make a page for the verses I memorize, it will keep me on track – like blogging everyday is easy for me because I committed to it. What do you think?

  2. Medical problems and their needed medication have played havoc with my short term memory. It’s almost impossible for me to memorise anything. I haven’t stopped trying though. I’ve downloaded an app from Biblegateway.com for both my mobile phone and my tablet that includes a daily Bible verse, audio Bible, and Daily Bible reading.

  3. I’m with you on this one, Debb. I start out all right, then get bogged down way too soon.

  4. By far my biggest memorization challenge to-date has been to memorizie the first several chapters of the Book of Revelation. I worked for a Christian publisher who had memorized all 22 chapters! So, I learned from him and committed as he did to memorize line-by-line, by quoting five to ten verses aloud at a time, doing this on an almost daily basis, until I had a whole chapter memorized, and then I proceeded on to the next chapter. It became like memorizing a ‘script’, perhaps the same way actors might do in memorizing for the stage, or in the same way one might memorize a favorite poem. I found that memorization became easier and easier as I went along. In Bible memorization, I generally use a modern version of Scripture that is easily understood everyday language, although I have also used the King James. Hope this helps!

~Let me know you were here~

