The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Quote Series Day 27

2 Comments

"You brute! You coward!" from an ano...

“You brute! You coward!” from an anonymous artist’s illustrations to Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

“Be yourself, because everyone else is already taken.” – Oscar Wilde

 

I wish my parents could have known this fact.   I grew up thinking that it was not okay to be Debbie, rather, I should be like other people – but never myself.

No wonder I didn’t really even know myself till after I had cancer (my parents had died long before then).   I will always be thankful that I had cancer.   Yes, I’m serious.   Cancer taught me that I was actually a strong person with a lot of faith and a strong desire for life, all its joys and yes, even its trials.  Cancer even gave me a good (or at least, I call it good!) sense of humor, a contented spirit, and undeniable joy.  So wonderful and joyful this was for me to find out these things, I started writing a book about my journey with cancer.   I feel in a hurry to let people know that receiving a cancer diagnosis does not necessarily mean a death sentence.   With my quirky humor, I wrote some of the chapters in the book with laughter in mind.  We can never have too much of that!  Oh, are you wondering about the book?  It is almost to the editing part; then I will be looking for an agent to represent me.

In case you didn’t know:  you are valuable, and you are loved.   Since that is the case, why would you want to be anybody else?

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Quote Series Day 27

  1. it’s strange Debbs, but I keep forgetting that you are a cancer survivor. I’ve seen some people use it as a weapon, a badge of honour, a reason to deny the existence of God, but you…well, you are just Debb, who lives, loves and laughs. Not because of the cancer, not in spite of the cancer, but just because 😉
    love you Sis xxx

    • Awww, that’s beautiful Lynikins! I feel the same way – sometimes I wonder “Did I really have cancer?” I live and love and laugh because Someone loved me first. 🙂 “Because He lives, I can face tomorrow”….and that is my strength. Love you too, Sis. xx oo

~Let me know you were here~

