The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Happy July!

8 Comments

Lake Michigan - Landsat Satellite Photo

Lake Michigan – Landsat Satellite Photo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You may have read that I am crazy about the first day of every month. First days are like a miniature New Year’s Day, when we get a new clean slate and have another chance to work hard and at the same time enjoy ourselves.

July is the month of my birth, so I am really happy when July 1 arrives. Even before cancer, I loved birthdays, mine and everyone else’s, and I never got depressed over an upcoming birthday. Now A.C. (after cancer) I love birthdays even more. They are proof that I have a life, that I am still alive and have not missed out on anything. My birthday is a wonderful time in which to count my blessings…and thank God. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thinking of July reminds me of the sweet cherries that my dad raised in his orchard in Michigan (and the peaches…and the apples…and the apricots…and the pears!) and how the National Cherry Festival was always held during the week of my birthday. My mom would take us kids to downtown, we would set up our folding chairs to wait for the parade, and I would take my birthday money and buy myself more Nancy Drew books. How convenient that I had something to do (read) while waiting hours for the parade! ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t receive an allowance, and the fact that I used the very occasional money to buy Nancy Drew books…well, does that explain why I love books more than practically anything?! ๐Ÿ™‚

My dad could not go to the parades with us, as he was busy in the orchard during that time of the summer. He hired migrant workers to pick the cherries; he didn’t have shaker machines. If I recall correctly, July, August, and September, he often worked 18 hour days in the orchard (the peaches came in late August).

Thinking of July also reminds me of Lake Michigan, one of the Great Lakes. We lived very close to it. My best sunburns were achievedย there on the beach, as if memory recalls correctly, I was down at the water all day, every day. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  In my mind, I can still hear the slap of the water on the innertubeย I was floating in and the smell of the lake water that was occasionally splashed onto the magazine I was reading while floating.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Oops, I digressed again. Thank you for taking a trip down Memory Lane with me. I do hope that even if your birthday is not in July, that you have a phenomenal month. ๐Ÿ™‚

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

8 thoughts on “Happy July!

  1. I didn’t realize that you grew up in Michigan!! Wednesday, we are heading up to Harbor Springs and then to the UP, can’t wait! We are also going to Traverse City at the end of the month. I can’t wait. Northern Michigan is such a magical place. Love the picture! Great post! Thanks for sharing!

    • OMG, I grew up in Traverse City! And that’s where my dad’s orchard was! I moved to MN in ’84. I love Harbor Springs and Petoskey, too! ๐Ÿ™‚ T]hanks for comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a lovely post, full of sunshine. Happy July to you too:-) I love the idea of the 1st of the month being a mini New Year…thanks for that idea. Blessings, H xxx

    • Blessings and thanks to you, too, Harula! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know if it’s because I think of the 1st as a new year (month), or I psych myself up – but they generally are good days for me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you can get in on the fun. xxoo

  3. It’s my oldest granddaughter Emma’s birthday this month too – the 8th. She’s turning 18. Hope your day is wonderful Debbs and that you are really spoilt ๐Ÿ™‚

~Let me know you were here~

