The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: Animals and Their Language

2 Comments

Golden RetrieverAnimals have a way of communicating with us
having nothing to do with words

They don’t ponder if they’re going to communicate
but communicate, they do.

On a pre-dawn walk this week
I saw Matthew and his dog Buddy

I called Buddy’s name
I could see the hello in his eyes
and the rhythmic wag of his tail
“Mrs. S!” he seemed to say
even though his lips did not move at all

When I got home from my walk
My cats communicated with me too

Micah circled my legs and gave me a head bump
Rachael ran toward her momma and “chirped” with her tiny little voice

I don’t think my household could ever be without a pet
we would miss the little signs of love and acceptance shown by them

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Poetry Saturday: Animals and Their Language

  1. Pets sure do communicate. Our little dog, Cally, adores my best friend Jan (Aunty Jan to Cally). If I say to Cally, “Guess who’s coming to see Cally?” she rushes to the front window and sits trembling and making this funny little whirring/trilling sound while looking up and down the road. She knows Jan’s car and even before it comes into view, she starts to bark and spin in circles. The minute Jan’s car pulls up in the driveway, I open the front door and Cally races down the front steps to greet Aunty Jan. You can’t beat a welcome like that 😀

~Let me know you were here~

