The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Where the Rabbits Go

4 Comments

English: Eastern Cottontail

English: Eastern Cottontail (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Blue Spruce. Tree.

Blue Spruce. Tree. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On my early walk the other day, a rabbit far ahead of me ran from the bushes to the lawn across the street. The house was on a beautiful corner lot that afforded the little bunny much protection.

As I neared the corner, my footsteps slowed down so I wouldn’t scare the bunny. As rabbits do, he posed, frozen. Once I went past the corner, however, I did call out to him softly: “here, bunny, bunny”. That is when the bunny decided he’d better take cover. He disappeared under the magnificently big blue spruce tree where I couldn’t see him anymore. I imagine all his brothers and sisters could fit under the one tree!

With a switch of his white cotton tail, he was off again, this time in the direction from where he came.

My dear Mr./Miss CottontailΒ is one example of beauty that can’t be touched. πŸ™‚

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Where the Rabbits Go

  1. My granddaughter has a pet rabbit called “Bunny Bun-Buns” πŸ™‚

    • Cute! One time Dave and I had to “rabbit-sit” for a weekend. The pet was unnamed as yet, so we called it “Bun Bun” —> close to your granddaughter’s pet’s name! πŸ™‚

  2. Sweet, I love rabbits! Just now, on my early morning walk, I slowed down so’s not to scare away a beautiful blackbird who crossed my path. We looked at each other for a moment, he bobbed his head and came a little closer as I murmured ‘good morning my friend’ …and then, off into the bushes. How I treasure those moments with wildlife in nature…

    • That is so neat that you got to say all those words to your blackbird friend before he flew off into the bushes.
      And it’s cute how he bobbed his head too! Yes, those “wildlife moments” are very precious. And wherever one lives, it seems like the early mornings are “hopping”! πŸ™‚

~Let me know you were here~

