The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Deck Memories

4 Comments

THE LARGE FLOWER POTS ON NICOLLET MALL BEAUTIF...

THE LARGE FLOWER POTS ON NICOLLET MALL BEAUTIFY THE URBAN ENVIRONMENT – NARA – 551434 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

DSC02526

I miss my cat Tiger.

Now that the deck is redone and covered with flower pots, I notice his absence even more. He always followed me around with my watering can and also drank rain water from the gutter. Now he would have appreciated the increase in flower pots from other years, and he would have been disappointed that a leaf guard has been put over the gutter, so drinking from there would have been more difficult now.

Tiger enjoyed the deck three seasons out of four. He didn’t even mind the cold, since he had a double layer of hair. Micah and Rachael are absolutely not interested in going outside, so it’s a little lonely going out there now. But I had breakfast out there this morning, and tomorrow I want to take time to deadhead the spent flowers and also read for an hour and enjoy nature. Think I will read for an hour? 🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Deck Memories

  1. Hi– Love the picture of Nicollet Mall. I spent many lunch hours out there enjoying the outdoors, the music, the flowers, the people, just the whole ambience! I saw your deck recently–lovely and very inviting. And Tiger is there too. The next time you’re out there, just close your eyes for a few quiet moments and you’ll feel his spirit.

    Pat

    ________________________________

    • Ooh, I love that idea of Tiger being there. Actually, I do still feel him in the house — now on to the deck! 🙂
      How ’bout Lee and I pick you up for lunch tomorrow around 11:30?

  2. What lovely memories of Tiger, Debbs. Maybe you can entice Micah and Rachael out to the deck with some treats that they’ll only receive if they go out there – assuming of course that Micah and Rachael are also pets, and not your Great Uncle and Aunt 😀 Spending time in the sun reading sounds like a wonderful pass time.

    • Ha! I have no parents or aunts and uncles left. By the way, I never did get that hour of reading in yesterday. Maybe on my birthday or the following weekend….one can only hope. 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

