The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Miracle on a Rail

4 Comments

Sunday morning, while watering my flowers on the deck, I saw a miracle of nature.

After watering the flowers by the sliding glass door, I proceeded to the front of the deck where there are numerous pots of flowers. For only the second time in nine years did I see a bird or two on the railing (it is up high, above the garage). I guess the neighborhood birds know that the resident red tabby is no longer patrolling the area! Tiger would have really liked today…one of the two sparrows remained. As I quietly, slowly came closer so I could water the flowers, one of them stayed right where he was. He looked at me with his tiny beady eyes and didn’t even flinch. You just got up, I said to myself, so you are dreaming this. No bird has ever let you come this close before. He isn’t injured or anything…

As I moved onto the next pot, “Birdie” flew down to the deck floor and drank the spilled water on the wood planks underneath the blossoms. That gave me an idea…I poured some water on a nearby plank. Sure enough, Birdie hopped over and drank some more.

I went into the house to get a small, narrow saucer to give a makeshift birdbath to my new friend. But alas, when I came back, he was gone…bummer! I hope my friend comes back to visit, as I really enjoyed looking at this sparrow up close. His feathers were edged in white (sort of like my purple star-shaped petunias that are edged in white), and on the center of his back, he had some baby-bird-down. So I had befriended an almost-grown-up baby bird!

That is the narrative of the few minutes of fellowship Birdie and I seemed to have. A sweet time! Almost as if I had been in another world. 🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Miracle on a Rail

  1. Nature is the best. Love your visit, sounds delightful.

  2. I hope yourfeathered friend comes back. It’s so fun to engage with our animal friends. I opened the front door the other day and encountered a squirrel on the sidewalk. He didn’t run away so I just watched him for awhile, darting around, digging in the bushes,looking for something to eat. He seemed to sense that I was there but wasn’t a threat so he just looked at me from time to time and went about his business.

    ________________________________

  3. P.S. I thought of the Walt Disney character, the girl who let a bird sit on her finger – was it Snow White? Anyway, I will try that very thing if Birdie ever comes back. 🙂 Maybe I can be another Mrs. Dolittle, like Nana in Story Squared is. 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

