The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Humanizing Wednesday: The Pigeon Secretary

2 Comments

 

Frontispiece from a volume of articles, The Pa...

Frontispiece from a volume of articles, The Passenger Pigeon, 1907 (Mershon, editor). The caption reads: “PASSENGER PIGEON (Columba Migratoria) Upper bird, male ; lower, female (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Pigeon Secretary

I was in my downtown office building

and seated in a work meeting

 

I watched a beautiful pigeon

on the windowsill

yet fully participated in the meeting

 

The bird kept trying to look in

and looked like she wanted to be with us

 

I thought of a story that could go with this bird

Oh-oh, here comes my muse (imagination)!

 

Mrs. “Pidgeon” was an administrative assistant

wearing a beautiful, irredescent dress

She was very smart and attentive

She cocked her head often as if to say

“What?  You said what?”

Cocked her head in many positions

and gazed at us with her beady eyes

She got bored once or twice during the meeting

so she turned her back to us and readjusted her dress

but she always returned her attention to the meeting

She wanted to memorize what was said

because she didn’t have a note pad with her

and she didn’t know how to use a pencil or pen

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Humanizing Wednesday: The Pigeon Secretary

  1. Love your pigeon poem! How cute. Even without a pencil and pen, I bet the pigeon understood every word and would have been a helpful participant in the discussion. LOL Also, your image of her adjusting her dress works nicely.

    I did a pigeon post yesterday that is listed just above under “Related Articles.” It called “Once upon a Pigeon: A Bird’s Eye View of Ecuador.”

    From Ecuador,
    Kathy

~Let me know you were here~

