The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: Happy Birthday Again!

2 Comments

English: Breat Cancer ribbons

English: Breast Cancer ribbons (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN
Many August twenty-fourths ago
I lost my dear sister to cancer

Then on that same day four years ago
I received my breast cancer diagnosis

August 24
is my second birthday of the year
I got a second chance at life
so I can call it a rebirth.

The only problem is
Sandra couldn’t be cured of her cancer

So now I live life for both of us
waiting patiently to see her again in heaven

Trying to live fully
so that my life counts

Forgetting the bad and the have-nots
and remembering with gratefulness the haves and the good

Happy 4th Birthday!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Poetry Saturday: Happy Birthday Again!

  1. I’m aslo a cancer (meloma) survivor since 1997. It’s always good to see people like you living on the positive side of things. Stay positive and stay in prayer.

~Let me know you were here~

