The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

“De Bows and De Bobbitt”

2 Comments

As the readers who have been with me for awhile can remember, my dad was a good storyteller.  Humor and a twinkle in his aquamarine eyes were a fact of life for him.  As I have also stated previously, I am my dad’s girl – his sense of humor, his face, long legs and body type, his vivid imagination, personality type…

And why, you may ask, is Debb telling us all this?

Because the 24th of August is when my sister died in 1994.  So I’ve been thinking about her a lot, which then leads me to think of my dad.   He often told Sandra and I a story (in complete German accent, of course!) that gave a listing of people…and “De Bows and De Bobbitt” were always on that list, no matter how many times he told the story or how he changed the story from one telling to another.  🙂

Once I moved out of state, and before personal computers came out, Sandra and I addressed our letters to “Bows” or “Bobbitt” when writing each other.   I was Bobbitt, she was Bows.  Now I wish I could remember the story!  We thought perhaps Bobbitt was Aunt Barbara, who was around long before our time.  Who knows what Bows was a nickname for!

I recently changed this blog’s by-line to:  “for the inner sunshine we all need”.   Thinking of this little story made me smile, so I wanted to share it with you.  Have you any creative nicknames that you gave yourself or someone else named you?

Debb, also known as Bobbitt.

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on ““De Bows and De Bobbitt”

  1. I’ve had several nicknames over the years. My Mum called used to call me Linnie-Lou, I don’t remember if my Dad called me anything other than Lyn. My son-in-law calls me his little fruitbat – that’s a story in itself lol.

~Let me know you were here~

