The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Lumosity – Fun!

3 Comments

Hi folks,

Have you signed up to be on Lumosity.com yet?  You can use some of the games on their site for free – actually, the games are brain exercises that work five different parts of the brain.

SPOILER ALERT:   You might as well call them games, because they are highly addictive!  🙂  (And normally, I hate computer games!)

I’ve been a paying member for a couple months now (cheap – it is like $5 US per month, payable a year in advance), and it is so much fun!   You can sign up to have email reminders sent to you at intervals that you name – mine is set for daily – and above that, you can play any number of games that you want.

Okay, you might remember I am a numbers kind of person – – I’m always checking my progress in this program, and if one or two areas are falling behind, I will play more of those games to have things relatively equal.  Right now I am in the 90th percentile in a couple areas and in the high 80s for the other areas (up from in the 40s).

The five brain areas (according to Lumosity) are:  memory, attention, flexibility, speed, and problem solving.   The general setting is what is recommended; there is an advanced version; and there is a student version that is excellent for those contemplating taking their SAT tests.  When I get all my areas in the 100th percentile range, I want to use the student version – I figure I can always learn more.  🙂

One of the games in the Attention section, seems to need to be in the Flexibility range – it is like juggling.  I pay attention to which train car needs to have their track clicked on so they can make it back to the right station, while looking out for other train cars and where they should end up.  This should also be in the Speed section, since it is a literal race against time.  🙂

Find out more at http:lumosity.com.  May brain speed, flexibility and better memory be yours, and may you have excellent attention and problem-solving skills.  🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “Lumosity – Fun!

  1. Pingback: Refueling Yourself | Sunshine Factor

  2. No, no, no. I’m not paying for games that are addictive. I’ve got a few games on my phone and my tablet and they’ve hooked me enough 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

