The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: Mister

9 Comments

English: The original Piggly Wiggly Store, Mem...

English: The original Piggly Wiggly Store, Memphis, Tennessee. The first self service grocery store, opened 1916. Français : Le premier supermarché Piggly Wiggly ouvert en 1916 à Memphis, Tennessee (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mister
I went grocery shopping yesterday

I was in the canned fruit aisle

She was in a wheelchair at the other end of the aisle

and her husband was behind her pushing a shopping cart

 

The lady kept asking “where’s the fruit?”

even though I called out to her and pointed:

“I just passed the applesauce, ma’am,

it’s on your left.”

 

She probably didn’t heart me

but by the tone of her husband’s retort

you would think

she had committed a federal crime

 

He responded, “You don’t need that.

I spend too much on your groceries.”

He yelled at her further

but I won’t repeat it here ~

you get the sickening idea.

 

Fast forward to my next stop:

a grocery store where they have fresh produce and dairy

A man one aisle over was yelling at his wife

I thought:  “Oh no, not another one!”

I was horrified when I turned the corner:

it was them!

I will call the man Mister

but he really does not deserve a nice title like that

 

This time he shouted at her

that he might as well leave her and go home

and when he came back

maybe she would have a shopping list ready, for once

 

Where is the love, man?

Do you hate yourself so much

you take it out on your wife?

Don’t you have any empathy

and did you forget –

you are no better than she?

 

My tender heart gets torn up so easily

when I see and hear things like this

I probably should go shopping when the stores first open

(since I am a morning person anyway)

and there might be less hate around

due to not a lot of people being up that early

 

Hate unfortunately is ever-present

but I still like to avoid it

Let’s let our love shine forth

so people don’t have to be humiliated

and treated so badly

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

9 thoughts on “Poetry Saturday: Mister

  1. So sad. It is frustrating being a career but frustrating as well for the person being cared for. It is very sad when that frustration spills over in public because you wonder what their lives are like at home. 😢

  2. There are far too many people like this around. Unfortunately I often hear my dad speaking to my mum in that way. She is in a wheelchair. I know she can be a pain in the ass when it comes to shopping, but often my sister or I pull him up on the way he speaks to her.

~Let me know you were here~

