The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Debbie’s Kitchen: Almond Chicken

Leave a comment

Another habit I’m forging this month is the idea of cooking meals on the weekends to provide our freezer with lunches to take to work, or to have a supper ready to zap in the microwave when time for supper is limited.  I won’t be depending on the convenience store at work for my lunches anymore (hence saving money), I will be eating healthier with good home cooking, and my liking to try new recipes has just hit its jackpot.  🙂

Hopefully I will post at least one new recipe a week.  Ideally, I will also add my comments about the recipe at the bottom.

 

Week 1…

“Almond Chicken”
6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

flour

1 t. celery salt

1 t. paprika

1 t. salt

1/2 t. curry powder

1/2 t. pepper

6 T. melted butter

1-1/2 c. half and half

3/4 c. sliced almonds

1/2 c. sour cream or plain yogurt

— Coat chicken pieces with flour.  Blend seasonings with butter and coat chicken in seasoned butter.  Arrange in single layer in lightly-greased 9 x 13″ baking pan.  Sprinkle with almonds and pour half and half over chicken.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Uncover and spoon about 1/2 c. sauce from pan, and blend into sour cream or yogurt.  Pour evenly over chicken.  Bake uncovered for about 15  minutes or until done.  Serves 6.

Comments from the cook:  *I thought I had curry powder and black pepper in the kitchen, but alas I did not.  In place of those two seasonings, I simply used 1/2 t. cayenne pepper.   This gave the dish a slight kick, but I still liked the taste.  *I found that putting in a whole small bag of sliced almonds from the store yielded only about 1/2 cup.  *I used plain yogurt for this recipe.  * I used an oblong casserole dish rather than a standard 13 x 9″ cake pan.  This meant the chicken was in two layers in the dish, but the chicken breasts each cooked evenly.

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

