The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Letter to Daisy

2 Comments

This letter is written to my inner child.  Yes – I believe in nurturing the part of one’s self that is still innocent and searching and can still feel the pain of the past.   The better my inner child feels, the better I feel!

Dear Daisy,

I wanted to let you know how proud I am of you.  You are so creative, and you are the one that prods me to keep moving in my writing career.  My life is so exciting now, and I never feel negatively prodded by you, but encouraged.  I believe that you are one of the muses who puts the stories and poems in my heart.

Exuberant!  Funny!  Sweet! Creative!  When people say this of me, in my heart I am giving you the credit.  (Well, you and the Lord, that is.)

When I was a child, you and I were one.  Then part of me grew into an adult while you stayed behind.  I didn’t even realize you exist until a few years ago.  Now I find that when I am learning to reparent myself, it is you I am lovingly training and reaching and embracing and encouraging.  You are learning quickly that the adults in the past who abandoned me or totally rejected me (especially my 4th grade teacher who called me DUMB in front of the whole class) and the kids who called me names, were totally in the wrong.  I didn’t have to believe what they said about me, but it’s all I had to go on, and so I did believe them.

Getting over the past happens more quickly when I affirm you and let you know that you are beautiful inside and out, that I love you, and I am living to take good care of me – and you.  Never will I abandon you or fail to take care of you.  I apologizing for not treating you better.

Thank you, Daisy, for bringing your joy into my life.  I think when I am a little silly or having fun, you are right there.   And I love you for it!

Thank you also for not bucking me when I started my recovery program.  You are easy to teach, and you are very willing.  Together we will see our dreams come to reality and our hope soar.

Love,

Debbie

Yesterday

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Letter to Daisy

  1. Your thoughts of beauty and life are greatly appreciated. I nominated you for the Shine On and Reader Appreciation Awards. For more information and retrieval of your badge, please visit http://feathermoonpoetry.wordpress.com/perseverance/ Enjoy this beautiful day with much peace and light to you.

~Let me know you were here~

