The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Humanizing Wednesday: The Dream and the Mud

Leave a comment

THE DREAM AND THE MUD

One day a patch of mud on the sidewalk approached the dream that surrounded Claire.  Claire’s green eyes always sparkled, but today the sparkles were as brilliant as stars.  The dream always rested on Claire’s head, but no one could see the dream – except for the mud.  Claire could see the dream in her mind’s eye, but that was about it.

“You must tell her don’t watch the ground too closely,” the mud urged the dream.

“You mean she shouldn’t be afraid to walk in the mud?  What if she doesn’t want to ruin her shoes?”  the dream tried to clarify.

“Oh,” said the mud, “I meant, she shouldn’t focus where she walks so much that she stops moving.  She’s got to follow you – her dream!  There will always be something in her way at times – that’s normal.  But it would be a shame for her to give up on you!”

“Ah, yes, that would be terrible,” agreed the dream.  “Right now, when she’s finally following me, the future looks bright – sort of like the starlight I give her.  Back when she lost me, she was so forlorn and lost.  But now that she has found me again, the sparkles are back in her eyes.  She walks so gracefully and confidently with her head held high.  This is what she has been wishing for, for a very long time!”

“Wonderful, Dream.  I wish Claire all the best.  By the way – what is her dream?”

“To write for a magazine, but that’s all I can say for the moment,” Dream answered.

“She’ll be good at that,” Mud affirmed.  “Not even I will be able to keep her down.”

THE END

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

