The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Letters from Home: The Post

Leave a comment

Two Sisters

Two Sisters (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Love Letter

English: Love Letter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: A painting of the three Brontë sister...

English: A painting of the three Brontë sisters; from left to right, Anne, Emily, and Charlotte. In the center of portrait is the shadow of Branwell Brontë, the artist, who painted himself out. Français : Une peinture de les trois soeurs Brontë: de gauche à droit, Anne, Emily, et Charlotte. Dans le centre du portrait est l’ombre de Branwell Brontë, l’artiste, qui a peint au-dessus de lui-même. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Portrait of Lady Cockburn and her three oldest...

Portrait of Lady Cockburn and her three oldest sons (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Birth order can affect human psychology, thoug...

Birth order can affect human psychology, though many supposedly formative effects of birth order are instead related to other factors. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I finally sat down with a banker’s box full of letters from my dad and mom.  Of course I always miss them, them having passed on several years ago, but now I miss them more!  Reading the letters was such a good thing.   I felt I was being affirmed for myself, since I was just like my father, and his words (and little drawings) made me laugh out loud.   He had such a unique way of saying things!

The letters also brought up things that I had forgotten, even though I have an excellent memory.   I realized that all these years when I was telling myself that they didn’t really care, they didn’t love me unconditionally, etc., I was ignoring the things they said once in awhile (just in letter form):  We are so proud of you.  We can’t wait till we see you again.  You are a generous person.   People want copies of your editorial that you wrote for your church newsletter.  Please send a monthly copy to our Pastor, he’s got to read them!

This shows me that even writing a letter to someone can have a profound effect on them – so if you’re saying something good – tell them often!  No detail is too small where love is concerned!  This is good advice for other relationships, too, besides parent to child (even if adult child):  sibling to sibling, sibling to grandparent, friend to friend, friend to teacher or professor, and the list goes on and on.  And, the old fashioned way of sending letters – with actual stationery and pen – is a very great way to do it.   I think our mailboxes get too full of bills and ads and not many letters anymore!  That is the sad thing about the technical age – we often lose the personal touch.

This brings me to my next point – and it is one that I have often said.  Let the people you love know that you love them.  Some people, like myself, aren’t aware of that fact.  I don’t care if you’re not the huggy-touchy-feely type, or if you’re uncomfortable with saying things like that to someone.  DO IT ANYWAY, and make their day!  🙂

Speaking of which, I love you.   I’m so glad you’re in my life.  Have a wonderful day!

Debb

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

