The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Humanizing Wednesday: Perilous Punctuation

Leave a comment

[Note from Debb:  If this looks familiar, it is because it was posted last month, albeit in a different format]

PERILOUS PUNCTUATION

I had a beautiful dream this morning where i was on a highway riding a bike, yet it was a bike that had a steering wheel.  As i steered all i could see was the beautiful sky during my favorite part of the morning:   early dawn with pinks and blues and teals.  I couldn’t see the road and hoped to God that I  would not crash.  Then I wondered what would sentences do if they did not have punctuation.  Would life be an aimless adventure like in my dream?  The punctuation marks all came to my mind and stood like a small army.  They took on human characteristics, and I got to know them more fully.

The period was a travel agent.  He said you have to get done seeing one country before you pass into another.

The question mark raised her eyebrows, indicating her questioning nature.

The semi colon was a pair of twins.  The period and the comma wondered why they could not be one mark or another.

The quotation marks were the opera singer’s arms as she stuck them out wide with a flourish to announce a coming high note felt from the heart and voiced with the lips.

The commas looked like they might be rubber duckies on a conveyer belt.  The series of words or list of words they surrounded just kept coming and coming and coming.

The colon was a football coach who announced the coming plays.  When he did this, you knew you should pay attention.

The asterisk was a detective.  First he had you read one clue and then find him at the end where he would give you the explanation or meaning of what went down.

The parentheses were a comedian who explained things so you could get the jokes.

That, my friend, is what i saw some punctuation marks as.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

