The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow

2 Comments

Write a story about yourself from the perspective of an object, thing, animal, or another person. Write a story about yourself from the perspective of an object, thing, animal, or another person.

My name is Micah.  I am a 10 year old male brown tabby cat.   I have a sister cat, Rachael, age 3.  But alas, I am not telling you about us — or not much, anyway.  I would like to talk to you about our mother lady.   Her name is Debb, but when she talks to us, she calls herself “Mama”.

Mama rescued both of us from shelters – she found me at one of the Humane Societies in her area, and I jumped on her lap in the visiting room right away.  She is so sweet, and she was trying to help her friend pick out a cat for himself.  Instead, I ignored him, and gravitated to her immediately.  Her smile and face and voice were full of sunshine.  I knew she wouldn’t leave me outside to fend for myself.  She is a truly mother type, although she doesn’t have human children.  However, Rachael and I are known to be her fur babies, and we are real proud of our mom.  She gives us so much love and good will.  Peace reigns in our house, the one she has named “Safe Haven”.   She spoils us rotten and believe it or not, she does get frustrated with my sister.

My sister Rachael was at a local shelter for a year before Mama brought her home.   She knew that Rachael’s wish was to find someone she could trust.  Well, it wasn’t long, and Rachael trusted Mama.  Mama has loved Rachael’s fear right out of her.  The only problem is,   Rachael and I jump onto Mama’s desk at home.  I tend to sleep right in front of the keyboard, but Rachael walks ON the keyboard.  To keep her away, Mama has to pet her with one hand and type with the other hand.  Even then, she never treats Rachael badly.  But, I admit, I don’t like it when her office door is closed.  That means that Mama absolutely cannot be disturbed by anyone or anything – not even by her two furry angels.  It’s at those times, when the door is shut, that Mama is working on something she calls her blog.   Is a blog a frog, only the beginning of the word uses a different letter?  You will have to let me know.    Just go to Mama’s contact page (she’s got to have one) and email her and put my name in the subject line.  Then she will read me your letter.  Thank you!  Meoowww and a hundred times Mmmeeeeeoooooooooowwww!

Mama is a real lovely person.  She likes to make noises at me – kind of uses a high-pitched eeeekkkkk!  I think she thinks I think she’s a mouse, but I will let her think what she wants.  I want to please her in return for her providing us a nice house.   I really felt bad for her when my brother Tiger died in February.  She wept so loud, I was scared and had to run to a different part of the house!

Oh yeah, one more thing.  Mama is peace loving, so she treats me and my sister the same.  When one of us wants a scratch behind the ears, the other cat gets one too at the same time.   She gives each of us our own dry kibble, water, and moist food dishes so we don’t have to share.

I love my Mama, and so does Rachael.  I think  if you met her, you would love her too.  We are glad that our daddy loves her much and treats her very well.   She deserves the very best.   Thank you, Mama dear!

Love,

Micah Pants

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow

  1. Love, love, love this!!! Micah Pants is very intuitive!! Pat

    ________________________________

~Let me know you were here~

