The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Humanizing Wednesday: The Peach and the Cucumber

Leave a comment

This selection is from my archives; I will share it again.  Debb

THE PEACH AND THE CUCUMBER

One day Peach begged Cucumber

to give her a big push toward the seashore.

(She could only roll, so round was she.)

Cucumber agreed,

only because the sand was flat

and she wouldn’t be able to gain any momentum on her own.

Peach desperately wanted to meet Tide

because Tide competed for attention from Debbie.

When Peach rolled down to the water’s edge,

she met Tide who was wearing sunshine sparkles currently.

“So you’re wondering why Debbie likes me so much, eh?”  Tide asked.

“She can hear me in easy listening music anytime she wants

and she can look at me and feel calm,

and apparently I center her back to sanity.”

Peach bit her lip, because she was getting nervous.

Juice dribbled down her chin, which gave her an idea.

“The kind of complexion Debbie has, is named after me,” she said.

“I am her favorite fruit, and she also likes my scent.”

Peach was getting to be so competitive,

that her motivation literally rolled her a few more inches!

And she got sand in  her mouth,

poor thing,

and the sand muffled her words:

“So I think I am best.”

Tide, being much bigger than Peach,

ebbed and flowed for a bit,

making a pretty picture of his playfulness.

He was quite wise, you see

and all of a sudden ROARED!

He was tired of all these other things

enchanting Debbie

but yet he had a gentle soul.

Tide made a deal with Peach:

“I think she loves both of us.

Why not put that to good use?

In loving us both, she can use all her senses for the enjoyment.

And we can each be wonderful in our own way.”

Peach agreed, saying,

“You’re right, Tide.

There is beauty in everything,

and there is nothing to prove.”

Soon it was time for Tide to go out

and Peach to get home for dinner.

They separated with a clearer understanding of Life

and a new-found friendship.

Later Peach found Cucumber

getting all oiled up

so he could be more attractive at the grocery store.

  Quantcast

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

