The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: The Dream Trail

Leave a comment

The Dream

The Dream (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

~ This is a metaphorical look at chasing our dreams and goals ~

When we are young

everything looks possible

and only a few

know what their special vocation is

 

In our teens and twenties

we start to zero in

on what we really like and enjoy

and yes – what we are talented for

 

Maybe people as young as that

find their niche right away

but most of us

are busy soaking up all of life

and putting off until later

focusing on our true dream

 

My dream was like that

but then I started chasing the rainbow

of my hopes and dreams:

writer

 

The thunderclouds rolled in

(very difficult writing assignments

in my writing course)

but the storm itself did not arrive

 

Then my dream

looked very much like a summer’s day

by the lake:

water bringing inspiration

nice warm sand of ideas

trickling through my fingers

seagulls crying out

with more and more ideas

bright beach ball colors

giving me hope

children nearby playing

with giggles that lighten my heart

 

Now my writer’s mind and soul

are like the Fourth of July

colorful explosions of ideas

and a throbbing like a sore toe

 

Come follow me on my trail

as I continue realizing my dream

I can promise we won’t get bored

 

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

