The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: Bags

Leave a comment

 

Bags, bags

the more of them I receive

the more they grow

Like busy rabbits

they’ve multiplied in my house

 

The cloth ones from charities

given to me as a thank you

hang around

with me thinking

there could be a purpose for each one

 

the pretty paper bags

holding gifts given to me

wait to be re-used for other gifts

 

the paper grocery sacks

fortunately are kept neat and tidy

but even they

should have a maximum number

allowed in the house at one time

 

Ah, but there is an answer!

Come Monday

I will bring them to work

and place them on the “free table”

where almost every day

it’s like a flea market

to see the things people don’t want

and others pounce upon the items as treasures

 

Okay, so a crisis has been averted

to be a streamliner I have converted

If I’m not careful, the bags will still grow

But out!  The bags have to go

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

