The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Friends Are Strangers…

Leave a comment

English: All Friends Conference, London, 1920....

English: All Friends Conference, London, 1920. First of the World Conferences of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) Français : All Friends Conference, London, 1920. Première conférence mondiale de la Société religieuse des Amis (quakers) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

…that haven’t met yet.  I’ve heard that saying before and liked it immediately.   I never set out to live life thinking about friends and strangers like that, but believe that saying, I do.   Of course, you can’t be friends with everybody (nor would you want to), and you don’t want to treat your young children like friends because they need your boundaries and guidance and need a parent; but for the most part, I believe people do want to meet new friends.

I know, I know, some people are shy and aren’t outgoing.  People usually throw in “introvert” when talking about shyness — but for me that definition does not work.  On  a Meyers-Briggs test I scored smack dab in the middle (well, actually, one more point for the introvert side), and as you can tell from my blog, I am not a shy person.  But I am indeed introverted.   I get my peace and get centered when I can be alone with my thoughts – usually early morning.  While crowds of people are fine and even energizing for extroverts, they (crowds) make me tired.

But no matter what type you are – have you met a new friend today?

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

