The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

How To Make Time Stand Still

10 Comments

4201_1140582920254_1419477_n-puppies-in-a-bowl

The subtitle of this post could be “Or, How To Not Notice Time Going By”.

When writers are flowing with ideas and they are living in a dream-like world, this is called “flowing” or “in the flow”.  When I have been there, I literally did not stop for a meal or notice that I was hungry.  I was enjoying myself too much.  🙂

I don’t know what it’s called for painters, but I can imagine it’s something very similar.  I imagine that their brush strokes cannot be put on the canvas fast enough, and in their mind’s eye they can already see the finished product.

Sculptors and potters, working with their hands to create lovely objects, perhaps cannot notice anything in their world except their ever-changing, new creation.

I believe that everyone can make time stand still.  How?  They can live in and enjoy the moment, and nothing else matters.  🙂

Have a great day!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

10 thoughts on “How To Make Time Stand Still

  1. SIGH…. Some of us, sadly, ‘flow’ all over ourselves, every day…. 😳 You’re right, though, about making time stand still… it’s a useful state, and should be encouraged…. 🙂

    • Thank you, Gigoid! Hey, I liked your blushing smiley face! Oh, and I wondered if I can call you by your first name, “Gigoid” doesn’t roll off my fingers onto the keyboard very easily. 🙂 Also, thank you for following Sunshine lately. Welcome!

  2. Excellent post Debb! Couldn’t have said it better. Sadly, my “flowing” leaked out somewhere along the way. Haven’t been able to write anything for months ;-(

~Let me know you were here~

