The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Let’s Give Them Our Support!

8 Comments

I again realized the importance of writing book reviews the other day, when I was talking with a new friend.  I see book reviews on Amazon all the time.  Why are they helpful, and what purpose do they serve?

  • They are helpful tools for Independent authors — those who publish their own books, who don’t have a publishing house getting the word out about them.
  • We advertise for these authors when we help our friends and family to find good books.
  • Writing book reviews is the new “word of mouth” vehicle.
  • These authors thrive on a broad audience base — and what better way to find them a good audience?
  • Book reviews are not hard to write, and they don’t have to be lengthy.  As long as you read the whole book and comment on it truthfully, it is a good review.
  • If you wrote a book and wanted your name out there, wouldn’t you want people to help you?  If I self-publish my books some day, I know I will be hoping for lots of book reviews written by you.  🙂
  • Writing a book is a time-consuming, sometimes very difficult but courageous adventure.  Wouldn’t it be nice to give authors an “atta boy!” or “atta girl!” affirmation?
  • A book review gives life to a book:   instead of seeing just the picture of it on Amazon, a reader can get a much better understanding of it and, if they are like me, would be more likely to pick it up than something with no review.
  • WordPress is a community of writers, and many of them publish their own books.   Let’s support them as best we can!

This blog has a page of book reviews I wrote about my WordPress friends’ books.  I haven’t written a book review lately — but next year I hope to once again spend time in some delicious reading.  🙂  Speaking of which:  my new website will offer a space for book reviews that you have  written.  Let’s build up our community!

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

8 thoughts on “Let’s Give Them Our Support!

  1. This type of support is priceless. I have a new ebook out that I’m giving away at Launchrock or you can buy for $1.99 at Amazon called Prison Spreads 101: Prison food, culture and recipes. I’d love an honest review as it is building toward a full memoir, all of which is to promote the badly needed place for prison reform. if this interests you, I’d love your honest feedback.

  2. This is a great article 🙂 I must admit, until I became an indie author, I didn’t realise how precious reviews were, so it’s great you’re reminding us all. Thank you for linking to my blog – you’re very kind! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the link back to my post! 🙂 I am thrilled to read a book review. Short or long. Full sentences or bullet points. However the reader feels comfy voicing their thoughts.

  4. Amen, sister! I love writing book reviews, but even more I love encouraging authors in my community. Writing and editing a book for public consumption is hard, nerve-wracking, and exhilarating. Not to mention a process that, if done well, can take about a year or longer (depending on many factors).

    Nothing worse than putting in all the blood, sweat and tears into crafting a book only to hear crickets (or worse, bad reviews).

    I agree with you: support your community, write a book review! 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

